BACHELOR (vocational) Information Technology Management for Security

The BSc in "ITMS" (for "IT Management for Security") is an undergraduate academic degree awarded for one-year studies, after having validated a two-years cursus in Computer Sciences or Networks. It brings skills in IT Management Services (ITIL-ISO20000) and Security (ISO27001-ISO27002) on the one hand, and on the other hand it allows to operate and manage the security tools (for operating systems, networks, data, applications and services).

  • Objectives
The functions linked to IT Security have been diversified: if the risk management for IT systems is still reserved to highly qualified engineers (Information system security officers (ISSO)), there are more and more tasks involved by security program management: supervise and administer protecting tools is not necessarily the responsibility of an engineer, even though these tasks are vital for the security. Our graduates are trained for such duties. On successful completion of this programme they will be able to demonstrate a knowledge of the concepts and methods required to successfully perform a broad range of management tasks in an IT support context. Moreover, they will know how to deploy appropriate practices and tools for assisting the design, implementation and evaluation of a secure IT environment.
  • Contents and models of teaching

- Unit 1 (Basis – 6 ECTS) is devoted to the validation of a common core of knowledge, it has three components: Databases, Operating Systems and Networks.

- Unit 2 (Communication and Enterprise – 6 ECTS) is also composed of three parts: (1) Business Knowledge (economic and legal aspects), with a focus on legal aspects of Service Management (contracts) and Computer Security ; (2) Communication and (3) English training.

- Unit 3 (Methods and Tools for Security and Quality – 18 ECTS) is devoted to technical items and consists of the following six components: (1) QoS in networks, (2) Mesures and supervision, (3) Data security, (4) Network security, (5) Services security, (6) Operating system Security.

- Unit 4 (Project – 9 ECTS) consists in a group work, on the design and implementation of a security solution prototype, together with a project management training.

- Unit 5 (IT Management and Information Security Management Systems – 9 ECTS) is the training kernel. The first component introduces the main concepts of Quality Management Systems (ISO9001, ISO20000). The second component develops the principles of Service Management (ITIL V3 Foundations). The third one presents the basis of Information Security Management Systems (ISO27001).

- Unit 6 (12 ECTS) is the 4-months internship in a company (consists in a first mission oriented to IT management quality system or information security, in a corporate IT department).

  • Admission requirements

To hold 180 ECTS in the fields of computer science and networks. Specifically, this BSc is intended to:
- Students having validated a second year Bachelor in IT.
- Students holding a DUT (GEII, R & T, Computer, SRC).
- Students with a BTS (management of information systems and networks).
- Persons of equivalent level in training.
- Employees, job applicants who hold a BA in computer science and professional experience in computer science who wish to validate this experience  (VAE 2002) and to participate in teaching units that were not validated in the training plan.
- Employees, or unemployed people holders of another BSc + significant professional experience who wish to validate this experience (VAE 1985).
- Employees engaged in a computer department who want to follow some of the modules for an update of their knowledge or to aquire deeper professional skills.